Jane Duncan

Jane Duncan

Associate Dean, College of Music & Performing Arts

College of Music & Performing Arts

PhD in Theatre Studies, Florida State University; Graduate Certificate in Arts in Medicine, University of Florida; MFA in Acting, Virginia Commonwealth University, BA in Theatre, University of Dayton



Dr. Jane G. Duncan came to Belmont in 2018 after fifteen years in Florida. While there, she worked in higher education at Barry University (Miami Shores) and Nova Southeastern University (Ft. Lauderdale), and as a theatre practitioner with Mangrove Creative Collective (founder/collaborator) and The Promethean Theatre (Managing Artistic Director/Resident Dramaturg); new play development with playwrights Christopher Demos-Brown, Juan C. Sanchez, Andrew Rosendorf, and Ricky J. Martinez; and various collaborations with Florida Stage, New Theatre, Mosaic Theatre, Thinking Cap Theatre, and Zoetic Stage.

Dr. Duncan served Nova Southeastern University (NSU) from 2006 to 2018 in several different roles; she worked on a Department of Education Title V Grant, was Director of Accreditation, and finished as Executive Director of Assessment and Accreditation. Dr. Duncan’s administrative experience spans academic affairs, with special emphasis on academic program review, assessment of student learning outcomes, curriculum development, faculty development, and oversight of compliance with regional (specifically SACSCOC), specialized, and professional accrediting standards.

Dr. Duncan has given invited presentations and facilitations at international, national, and regional theatre conferences; she is the co-chair for the Assessment Subcommittee for the Association of Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE), published in the Scarecrow Press anthology Theatre and Dance in Eastern Europe: The Changing Scene and Palgrave Press’ New Directions in Teaching Theatre Arts, is on the Editorial Board for the peer-reviewed journal Theatre Topics (Johns Hopkins Press) and works with the Nashville Shakespeare Festival as a member of the Board of Directors.