Skip to main content
Belmont University logo
A social work student presents her research project to two other students listening on.

Accreditation & Licensure

The Social Work Department at Belmont University is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education’s Commission on Accreditation.

Accreditation of a baccalaureate or master’s social work program by the Council on Social Work Education's Commission on Accreditation indicates that it meets or exceeds criteria for the assessment of program quality evaluated through a peer review process. An accredited program has sufficient resources to meet its mission and goals and the Commission on Accreditation has verified that it demonstrates compliance with all sections of the Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards.

Accreditation applies to all program sites and program delivery methods of an accredited program. Accreditation provides reasonable assurance about the quality of the program and the competence of students graduating from the program.

View CSWE Outcomes Assessment

State Licensure

Students completing the Bachelor in Social Work program are eligible to be licensed by many state professional licensing boards. Separate from educational requirements for licensure, state licensure boards may require applicants to complete professional examinations and background checks. Additional requirements, including documentation of internship and supervision hours, may vary.

The Bachelor of Social Work Program at Belmont University meets the educational requirements for BSW licensure as follows:

Positive Licensure Determinations

Negative Licensure Determinations*

No Licensure Determinations

Educational Requirements for State Licensure Educational Requirements for State Licensure Educational Requirements for State Licensure
  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Peurto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • Washington

*These states do not offer Social Work licensure at the Baccalaureate level


It is best to contact the appropriate licensing entity in each state a student seeks to be licensed in to identify information regarding additional licensure requirements. The Association of Social Work Boards provides helpful information in connecting with these agencies.