Skip to main content
Belmont University logo

Current Students

Walter and Sarah Knestrick Award

Watkins College of Art will present the inaugural Walter and Sarah Knestrick Award to an eligible senior major student who proposes a plan to pursue an exceptional creative endeavor post-graduation. This $5,000 award is designed for a student to pursue creative endeavors that may include but are not limited to, studio art pursuits, research projects, art/design-based businesses, or arts-related community engagement projects. Interested students must submit an application that includes a project proposal defining their creative goals beyond graduation and how they plan to use the funds. All proposals must be achievable in a one-year timeframe, and the winning student will be required to present the outcomes and reflections of their endeavor to the Watkins/Belmont community. Applications are due on March 20, 2022, at 11:59 pm.



  • Applicant must be a graduating senior
  • Applicant must have a 3.0 GPA 



PDF presentation posted to Watkins College of Art Student Portal on Blackboard
PDF should include:

  • Name, major(s), date of expected graduation
  • Abstract of your proposed project
  • Project budget
  • Supporting imagery for your proposal (up to 5 images)
  • 5 images of personal art/design portfolio



  • March 20 (11:59 CST) - Student Application Due
  • March 23 - Adjudication by Watkins College of Art Faculty
  • March 26 - Final Candidates Interview with Visiting Jurors
  • March 31 - Announcement of Award


Adjudication Process:

  • Faculty adjudicators conduct an adjudication of proposals
  • 3 proposals will be selected for the final interview and selection by guest juror(s)



If you need help generating a PDF for your proposal, this Microsoft help document has how to export Powerpoint to PDF. You can also generate a PDF from Google Slides by clicking File from the Google Slides menu, then Download, then select PDF Document (.pdf).

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact Kristi Hargrove, Jackie Tingle, or James Pierce