Skip to main content
Belmont University logo
Faculty, staff, and students participate in a privilege walk in the Curb Event Center

About Us

Belmont’s Welcome Home initiative was established by senior leadership to support the university’s goal of becoming increasingly more diverse and broadly reflective of our local and global communities. The Welcome Home Diversity Council meets regularly to support Belmont's diversity and inclusion initiatives and serve in an advisory capacity to senior leadership.

Mission: The champion of all campus wide diversity and inclusion efforts, the council is focused on enhancing and embedding a culture of inclusive excellence for faculty, staff and students.

The Council is made up of faculty, staff and students from across campus and includes representatives from a variety of locations across campus including the Teaching Center, the Office of Multicultural Learning and Experiences, HOPE Council, and more. The Council is chaired by Vice President and Chief of Staff Dr. Susan West.



2020-2021 Member Listing


Phil Johnston
Colin Cannonier
Cheryl Slay-Carr
Edgar Diaz-Cruz *
Mike Pinter
Sabrina Sullenberger


STAFF (14)

Susan West - Chair
Angie Bryant
Haley Charlton
Mary Clark
Chris Gage *
LaKecia Hudson *
Gary Hunter
Leslie Lenser
Jasmine Marecle *
Greg Pillon
Kenisha Rhone *
Joyce Searcy
Renee Schultz
Debbie Sprang *


Madison Biggs – Graduate Student
Lexi Bramer - SGA
Aliya Johnson – Student-at-Large
Marcus Knight – Student-at-Large
Vaikia Robinson – HOPE Council
Riquera Smith - BSA
Fatima Whatley – Resident Assistant

*new to the council