Skip to main content
Belmont University | Belief in Something Greater


Belmont University has five nationally recognized sororities. Four of our sororities are members of the National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) umbrella group: 

One of our sororities is a member of the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) umbrella organization:

These groups are listed separately as they come from very different historical contexts and have different cultures associated with them. NPHC organizations are culturally-based (historically African American) organizations. 

Though NPHC has a different historical context, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. does not discriminate based on race for membership – there are no racial or ethnic qualifications for membership for any NPHC group. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. participates in a different recruitment system than the other four NPC groups. See How Do I Join? for details. 

Each of these organizations exist under an umbrella organization (governing council) at Belmont called the Panhellenic Association