Skip to main content
Belmont University | Belief in Something Greater
A photo of Belmont University President, Dr. Bob Fisher, announcing Belmont's new Bachelor of Architecture program at a press conference.


National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) Accreditation

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, eight-year with conditions, or two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The NAAB grants candidacy status to new programs that have developed viable plans for achieving initial accreditation. Candidacy status indicates a program expects to achieve initial accreditation within six years of achieving candidacy, if its plan is properly implemented.

In order to meet the education requirement set forth by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, an applicant for an NCARB Certificate must hold a professional degree in architecture from a program accredited by the NAAB; the degree must have been awarded not more than two years prior to initial accreditation. However, meeting the education requirement for the NCARB Certificate may not be equivalent to meeting the education requirement for registration in a specific jurisdiction. Please contact NCARB for more information.

Belmont University is currently seeking candidacy status for the following professional degree program in architecture:

  • B. Arch. (155 undergraduate credits)
  • Year Candidacy Awarded: TBD
  • Next Visit: Eligibility Visit (March 16-17, 2020)
  • Projected Year to Achieve Initial Accreditation: 2025
  • Earliest Graduation Date projected to meet NCARB education requirement: 2025

Belmont’s B.Arch. will abide by the following documents (available in early 2020):

Ready to learn more about applying to Belmont’s architecture program? Follow the links below for more information on admissions policies, tuition, financial aid and more.

Apply as a New Freshman
Apply as a Transfer/Second Degree Student
Fall 2019 Admitted Freshman Profile
Tuition and Aid Information
Cost Estimator


Educational Requirements for Licensure

Once it achieves accreditation from the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), Belmont University's Architecture Program will meet the state educational requirements for licensure in the following states of the United States of America:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, and the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Virgin Islands. 

The following territories do not offer a license to practice architecture:

American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, and the Republic of Palau. 

There are no U.S. states for which Belmont University has not yet made a determination regarding whether the program's curriculum will meet the state educational requirements for professional licensure or certification.  

Transfer Credit Policy

Determination of eligibility for general education transfer credit will be determined by the Office of the Registrar.

Determination of eligibility for architecture program requirements transfer credit (ARC courses) will be determined by the Chair of the Department of Architecture, based on:

  • Alignment of general course content
  • Demonstration of achievement of applicable NAAB-defined Program or Student Criteria

Students requesting that courses completed at another institution be considered for Belmont ARC credit must submit to the Department Chair:

  • that institution’s catalog description for the course and
  • the syllabus for the semester it was taken. 

For some courses, the Chair may also request examples of coursework. In most cases, transfer courses proposed for credit for Belmont ARC courses numbered 3000- or higher must be completed in an NAAB-accredited program.

 The Architecture Program at Belmont currently has no established articulation agreement with other institutions and does not award credit for other prior learning experience.