Skip to main content
Belmont University | Belief in Something Greater


All Belmont University faculty, staff and students proposing to conduct federally protected research involving human subjects must submit an application for IRB review and receive approval from the IRB before beginning any research. The Mentor online application portal should be used to submit all IRB applications (exempt, expedited, and full). The online application portal can be accessed at


Contact a faculty member in your department, school or college who serves on the IRB or the IRB Committee Chair at 615-460-5452 or

Dr. Sally Barton-Arwood, School of Education IRB Committee Chair

Dr. Teresa Plummer, School of Occupational Therapy IRB Committee Vice-Chair

Dr. Cathy Hinton, School of Physical Therapy

Dr. Lorry Liotta-Kleinfeld, School of Occupational Therapy

Dr. Linda Jones, Department of Psychological Science/College of Sciences and Mathematics 

Dr. Shelby Longard, Department of Sociology/ School of Social Sciences

Dr. Lori McGrew, Department of Biology/College of Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Mike McGuire, College of Pharmacy

Dr. Linda Wofford, School of Nursing

Dr. Beth Woodard, Jack C. Massey, College of Business

Dr. Lyonel Gilmer, off-campus alternate

Dr. Jason Rogers, University Counsel (ex officio)