Skip to main content
Belmont University | Belief in Something Greater

IRB Committee

All Belmont University faculty, staff and students proposing to conduct federally protected research involving human subjects must submit an application for IRB review and receive approval from the IRB before beginning any research. The Mentor online application portal should be used to submit all IRB applications (exempt, expedited, and full). The online application portal can be accessed at https://www.axiommentor.com/login/axlogin.cfm?i=belmont

Questions? 

Dr. Thomas Burns, Provost, IRB Institutional Official

615 460-5452

Contact a faculty member in your department, school or college who serves on the IRB or the IRB Committee Chair at 615-460-5452 or irb@belmont.edu:

Dr. Sally Barton-Arwood, Department of Education/College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
IRB Committee Chair 
sally.arwood@belmont.edu

Dr. Teresa Plummer, School of Occupational Therapy/Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences
IRB Committee Vice-Chair
teresa.plummer@belmont.edu

Dr. Cathy Hinton, School of Physical Therapy/Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences 
cathy.hinton@belmont.edu

Dr. Linda Jones, Department of Psychological Science/College of Sciences and Mathematics
linda.jones@belmont.edu 

Dr. Lorry Liotta-Kleinfeld, School of Occupational Therapy/ Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences  
lorry.liottakleinfeld@belmont.edu 

Dr. Shelby Longard, Department of Sociology/College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
shelby.longard@belmont.edu

Dr. Lori McGrew, Department of Biology/College of Sciences and Mathematics 
lori.mcgrew@belmont.edu

Dr. Mike McGuire, College of Pharmacy 
michael.mcguire@belmont.edu

Dr. Sarita Stewart, Mike Curb College of Entertainment and Music Business
sarita.stewart@belmont.edu

Dr. Linda Wofford, School of Nursing/ Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences 
linda.wofford@belmont.edu

Dr. Beth Woodard, Jack C. Massey College of Business 
beth.woodard@belmont.edu

Dr. Lyonel Gilmer, Community Member
lyonel.gilmer@gmail.com 

Ms. Pat Cole, Community Member Alternate
PCole@cfmt.org