Skip to main content
Belmont University | Belief in Something Greater

Daniel Landes

Daniel LandesDr. Daniel Landes is Professor of Music in Piano and Coordinator of Keyboard Studies for the School of Music at Belmont University. In addition to courses in piano, he also teaches in the Church Music area.  He has been President of the Nashville Area Music Teachers Association and has served on the Board of Directors of the Tennessee Music Teachers Association where he was the Coordinator of the Junior High School Division. Currently, he is on the Board of Directors of the Nashville International Piano Competition.

Landes received the Doctor of Musical Arts from Southern  Seminary, Master of Music from the University of Maryland, and Bachelor of Music from Shenandoah Conservatory of Music. He has also done postgraduate work at American University and the University of Arizona, and has studied with Henry Black, Roy H. Johnson, Maurice Hinson, and Jerzy Sapieyevski. In addition to Belmont University, Landes has been on the faculty of Indiana University Southeast, West Virginia University, and Vanderbilt University.

Landes was co-author of The Electronic Encyclopedia of Hymnology and his original hymn tunes appear in The Faith We Sing with The United Methodist Publishing House. Other publications include instructional textbooks (Class Piano Resource Materials), articles in the Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology, and incidental music for productions at the Nashville Public Library (Hamlet and Mid-summer Night's Dream).

Landes has performed solo piano concerts throughout Tennessee and has appeared numerous times on the Belmont University Faculty Concert Series.  Dr. Landes has been Professor of Piano at Belmont University since 1983. His students have participated in concerts and competitions and many are now actively working as professionals in the fields of church music, music education, music business, and piano pedagogy.


Viewable performances by Dr. Daniel Landes:

Mozart Sonata in F Major, K. 332 (I. Allegro)

Beethoven Piano Sonata in F Minor, Op. 57

Click here for more video and audio files by Daniel Landes and the Piano Department